The 1989 book tag

I saw this tag over at Book Around The World and as a Taylor Swift fan, I knew I had to do this. It was created by review from a Bookworm and what we need to do is match books to the lyrics from Taylor’s latest and fabulous album 1989. So here we go:


Welcome To New York

You can want who you want,

boys and boys and girls and girls.” ♫ 

  1. A book with LGBT themes

10015384._SY540_

This is the first book I read where the main character is gay and I loved it ❤ It’s a diverse, coming of age story about acceptance, love, friends and family and is one of those feel good, thought-provoking contemporaries that is a must read.

“White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.”

*****************

Blank Space

♫”You can tell me when it’s over

if the high was worth the pain.”♫

2. A book that hit you right in the feels…but was totally worth it.
9781416975908-no-stkr-265x400Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Ahh this book… I love it to pieces even though a cried a river while and after reading it. And it’s been over two years since reading this but I swear I still haven’t recovered from all the major feels. It’s like Cassie ripped my heart out, shattered it to a million peices and put it back together in the best possible way.

*****************

♫”I’m a nightmare dressed like a daydream”♫

3. A book that you hated but you loved the cover.

Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A Tucker.

Oh how I loathe this book.The protagonist Kacey slut shames every other woman in this book, she uses people, thinks she’s strong when really, she just has anger management issues and I hated how witty she thought she was when she just came off as offensive. And the love interest was one those creepy stalker dudes so I couldn’t get past these characters to even try to give the sorry excuse for a plot a chance to redeem the book.

*****************

♫”I’ve got a blank space baby

and I’ll write your name.”♫

4. Your latest book boyfriend/girlfriend

Tamlin, the High Lord of the Summer court ❤  He’s the perfect combination of sexy, awkward, shy and confident. He’s thoughtful and sweet but badass at the same time and don’t even get me started on how many times he made me swoon 😉 ❤

*****************

Style

♫”We never go out of style”♫

5. A timeless classic you love.

Did you honestly expect me to give another answer? HP always ❤

*****************

Out of the Woods

♫”The rest of the world is black and white,

but we were in screaming color.” 

6. A book which had vivid world buildings.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor. The world-building in these book is spectacular. The attention to detail, the complexity are taken to a whole new level in these books. Laini takes elements from various mythology and makes them hers, enriching them with her own charming elements and constructing a world that is fascinating and rich in detail.  And her writing is just the sugaring on top. If I were to roam around in her mind, I’m pretty sure it would be filled with fairy dust, nymphs and cotton candy. She’s just that magical ❤

*****************

♫”The monsters turned out to be just trees”♫

7. A book where things weren’t exactly how they seemed.

Oh my gawd this book drove me crazy. In the best possible way. It messed with my brain like no other and every time I thought I had things figured out, something would happen to disregard my theories. Best part about the book was the unreliable narrator and hence the uncertainty. You never know for sure if certain things are actually happening or if it’s all in her head and reading this book was a wildly fun, emotionally draining experience.

*****************

All You Had To Do Was Stay

♫”You were all I wanted

but not like this”♫

8. A book you were eagerly anticipating, but ended up being disappointed by.

The Covenant series by Jennifer L Armentrout was started off really well and the fifth and final book (pictured above) Sentinel was one of my most anticipated books of all time. Too bad it ruined the series for me.  There wasn’t much character development with the main characters and the plot was all over the place. Out of all the possible ways this could’ve gone, the author went with the most stupid one. :/

*****************

 Shake It Off

♫”The haters gonna hate..♫

9.  A book/series that everyone seems to love but you can’ t help but hate.

Such.

Writing.

Is.

Enjoyable.

Only.

If.

Its.

Used.

Once.

Or.

Twice.

Not.

All.

The.

Damn.

Time.

See what I did there? 😛 Everyone loves this book but I had a hard time finishing it. Miles was a jerk of a love interest. Just because his life is tragic doesn’t mean he has the right to treat others like crap. Tate, the heroine had no self respect at all and the story was way too cheesy for my liking.

*****************

10. A book series you love but everyone seems to hate.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I freakin love all things shadowhunter and cannot fathom why people don’t like this series. Granted the first two books aren’t the best but really Cassie’s world-building, her characters, the plots, etc are amazing! ❤

*****************

I Wish You Would

♫”I wish you knew I’ll never

forget you as long as I live”♫

11. A book/series you know you will always love.

The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta

Melina Marchetta is a goddess when it comes to writing, especially fantasy books. And this one right here is one of my all time favorite ❤  This series is disguised as ‘fantasy’ but in actuality, it’s well above that. And everything about it, the world, the characters,  the stories, the themes, the things I’ve learned, it’s all gonna stay with me forever. ❤

*****************

♫ “I wish you were right here,

right now”♫ 

12. An upcoming release you wish you could have right now.

I need this more than anything and the wait is killing me.

*****************

Bad Blood

♫ “Now we’ve got bad blood

you know it used to be mad love”♫ 

13. A character you once loved but grew to hate.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

This was a difficult one because I could only think of characters I hated but grew to love.  I finally decided to go with Chaol from The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Mass even though I never loved him. I just thought I would because of all the hype. Anyway, I never could bring myself to like Chaol. There’s something off about him, something indecisive and immature and weak about him. He usually isn’t the one to make decisions but the decisions are made for him and I don’t like such characters :/ He was insufferable and I really wouldn’t mind if Maas decided to kill him in one of the books.

*****************

♫”Did you have to do this

I was thinking that you could be trusted.

Did you have to ruin

what was shiny now it’s all rusted.♫

14. An author you haven’t forgiven for the things they did to your favorite characters/books.

Suzanne Collins for those two deaths in this book. I’m dreading the movie because I don’t think I can go through that emotional trauma again.

*****************

Wildest Dreams

♫”I can see the end 

as it begins”♫

15. A book that was far too predictable.

I find Sarah Dessen’s books to be incredibly predictable. I’ve only read three of them and even though I loved the first book, Just Listen, I began to see a pattern in her books and gave up reading the rest. All her stories consist of a girl with broken past meeting a guy with lesser trauma and a good ear. They bond over their shared love of music, bad parents, etc and fall in love and get through their problems. End of story.

*****************

♫”Nothing lasts forever

but this is getting good now”♫

16. A book/series that you wish could’ve gone on forever.

10165761

I’m going with The Lumatere Chronicles by Melina Marchetta again. because I love this series so very much ❤ The first book in this series could’ve been a standalone, with its happily ever after but Marcehetta went on with the second book. She told us about the happily ever after and switched focus  of attention to some OTHER interesting characters. She’s done it before and I’d be the happiest person in the world if she decides to write about another character from this series. Because each and every one of them are unique and interesting and have so much depth to them. ❤

Oh and also, Harry Potter. wish it could go on forever.

*****************

How You Get The Girl

♫”That’s how it works,

that’s how you get the girl.”♫

17. One of your favorite books where they ‘got the girl’

11096647    download

 Flat Out Love and Flat Out Celeste by Jessica Park. These two are my favorite new adult contemporaries of all time so I had to go with these. I couldn’t decide between Matt and Julie from Flat Out Love and Celeste and Justin from Flat Out Celeste so I’m going with both of them. I loved seeing both their relationships grow and reading about them falling in love was so heartwarming and I kept rooting for them from the very beginning.

*****************

This Love

“In darkest screams,

in wildest dreams,

I never dreamed on this”♫

18. A book that completely shocked you

Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci code by Dan Brown. I read them back to back  and those plot twists, I didn’t see them coming at all.  Certain things in this book blew my mind and left me speechless.

*****************

I Know Places ❤

♫”Love’s a fragile little flame

it could burn out.”♫

19.  A book you thought you loved but quickly came to hate.

17788403

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover. I can’t really think of any that I loved and then came to hate but I did think I would love this book. And I didn’t :/ I wanted to love this one so badly but couldn’t. The writing was great and the plot was interesting but this one lacked that ‘special something’ that Hoover’s books usually have. The plot was dull and cheesy and so were the characters and and I hated how cheating came across as something that’s acceptable in this book.

*****************

♫”Something happens when everybody finds out.

See the vultures circling dark clouds.”♫

20. A book you didn’t want to be seen reading.

Book Tours

The covers and titles of The dark Elements series by Jennifer L Armentrout could not be cheesier if they tried. And I wouldn’t like to read them in public for obvious reasons.

*****************

Clean

The drought was the very worst,

when the flowers that we’d grown together died of thirst.” ♫

21. When the wait between books made you forget everything that happened.

9755769

I usually pride myself for having a very good memory when it comes to books but  Oblivion, the last book in Kelly Creagh’s dark, gothic, beautifully written Nevermore series was released this August. And  the previous book, Enshadowed was published back in 2012 :0 That’s 3 years for crying out loud! I haven’t forgotten the main plot but I don’t remember each and every detail either so I’ll only get to Oblivion after rereading Nevermore and Enshadowed.

 *****************

♫ “By morning, gone was any trace of you,

I think I am finally clean”. ♫

22. A book/series you wiped from your memory.

download (1)

I like to pretend that the last books in The Grisha series; Ruin and Rising never happened. I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed this badly by a book mostly because I invested too much of my heart into this story and didn’t get anything in return. This series had so much potential but Bardugo had to mess it up with the last book.  It felt like she took the easiest way with the finale :/ I hate even talking about this because it makes me feel sad so yeah wiped from my memory. Out of sight, out of mind.

*****************

Wildest Dream

♫”He’s so tall and handsome as hell

he’s so bad but he does it so well”♫

I wanted to add this one because who doesn’t love a bad boy right? 😉

23. A book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love.

download (2)

The Darkling from Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo ❤ He is charming, yet conniving. He is badass, yet endearing. He is a megalomaniac, yet alluring. He was and is the best part of this series. Whether he’s on the page or not, he still leaves a lingering trace of darkness so you won’t, you can’t forget he is still there, waiting in the shadows. And I loved how with him, you never know or sure what his intentions are. Whilst reading, I wanted to know how human he really was, and yet there was a part of me that also wanted to see just how bad he could go.

4 thoughts on “The 1989 book tag

Leave a Reply

