AUGUST WRAP UP (2016)

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all doing well. No your eyes aren’t deceiving you, I’m putting up more blog posts again 🙂 My archive for the past few months looks sad and it’s about time to change that. I stopped blogging mainly because I used to stress out about posting frequently and not being good enough. I used to worry about the number views and hits so I put it on hold.  And turns out a good break is all I needed because I feel like blogging again 🙂 I’m going to start slow though, with tags, a few reviews now and then and monthly wrap ups. With that being said, lets get on with the monthly wrap up!

Note: I’ve decided to focus on not only books but also on other thing like movies, TV shows, etc in these wrap ups, just mentioning things that ended up being a favorite 🙂

AUGUST WRAP UP (2016)

Books:

IMG_0481

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling: I read this as part of the Harry Potter readathon I hosted along with my co bloggers over at Fictional Fortress. The readathon was a huge success and going back to the magical world with fellow potterheads was a wonderful experience.

            Favorite quote:  “Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all those who live without love.”

            My rating: 5/5

Find it on Goodreads

      2.  Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne & John Tiffany: As much as I loved going back to the wizarding world after 19 years, I’m afraid to say that I didn’t quiet enjoy this book much as I thought I would. Read my detailed, spoiler freereview here.

          Favorite quote: “… And being alone — that’s so hard. I was alone. And it sent me to a truly dark place. For a long time. Tom Riddle was also a lonely child. You may not understand that, Harry, but I do …”

My rating: 3/5

Find it on Goodreads

 3. P.S I Like You by Kasie West: Sometimes I get into these moods where all I need is some good ol’ high school contemporary books with feel good romance, because I simply love feeling my head so light and having my heart skip a beat remembering how it felt to fall in love for the first time (and every time after that). And having read West’s previous books, I knew I could count on her to deliver. And she did. Not well as I expected unfortunately. PS I Like You was a fun, cute read although predictable. It just felt like it was missing that wow factor that I often associate with West’s other books.

Favorite quote: “Words brought us together though they almost kept us apart. You trusted me with your secrets and then you stole my heart.”

My rating: 3/5

Find it on Goodreads

4. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover: When it comes to Colleen Hoover’s books, its a love-hate relation I have with then and sadly, I was not a fan of her last 4 books. But I still diligently read every single book she publishes because, I love her writing and Slammed and Hopeless are some of my favorite books of all time. Anyway, getting back to It Ends With Us, I was honestly surprised by how much I ended up liking it. This book? It’s powerful, emotional and complicated. It wasn’t easy to read because of the topics she deals with but that’s what makes it real and raw and human.

Favorite quote: Preventing your heart from forgiving someone you love is actually a hell of a lot harder than simply forgiving them.

My rating: 4.5/5

Find it on Goodreads

5. Remembrance by Meg Cabot: I used to love the Mediator series as a teen so it was great to read the adult addition to it. It honestly felt like hanging out with old friends ❤
Remembrance was basically everything I wanted, you get your typical ghost busting, Suze and Jesse, the mystery and the classic sarcasm that I’ve always been able to relate to.

Highly recommend this to all of you who grew up reading The Mediator series. Remembrance was the perfect conclusion to it.

Favorite quote: “Of course I’m not crying. I never cry. It’s allergies. They’re terrible this time of year.”
Jesse gave me one of his lopsided grins.”It would be all right if you cried,” he said. “I like it when you do. It gives me an excuse to play that overprotective nineteenth-century macho man you’re always talking about.”

My rating: 4.5/5

Find it on Goodreads

6. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron: What initially attracted me to this book as the blurb. It’s intriguing as hell and when I found out that its a historical fiction,  knew I just had to read it. The Shadow of The Wind is originally written in Spanish and I read the English translation of course and maybe that’s why I didn’t find the writing to be extraordinary.  Regardless, I still enjoyed this book. The plot was very complex and original and so were the characters and that’s what made this book special to me. I will admit I didn’t like the way women were treated in this book but the story is set in such a time and I’m trying not to hold it against the book.  If you’re a fan of historical fiction or mystery, then pick this one up. You won’t be disappointed.

IMG_0397

Favorite quote: “People tend to complicate their own lives, as if living weren’t already complicated enough.”

My rating: 4.5/5

Find it on Goodreads

7. You by Caroline Kepnes: You is basically a story about this man Joe and his obsession with a girl. An obsession that turns him into a stalker and we get to see the inner working of a stalker and man was this book disturbing. It was scary seeing Joe easily reason out every terrible thing he did and yet, Kepnes turned this homicidal maniac into a charming man at times. Ugh this one messed with my head but it was brilliantly written, although slow paced at times.

Favorite quote: “If we were teenagers, I could kiss you. But I’m on a platform behind a counter wearing a name tag and we’re too old to be young.”

My rating: 3.5/5

Find it on Goodreads

8. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton: As the title suggests, this book is very strange and very beautiful and I loved it to pieces. It centers around the Roux family who have always been someway different. Their relationship with love is certainly a very special one because it looks like love set it as a task to lead the life of every family member into a bottomless pit of pain and despair. It’s about three women who face the obstacles love puts on their path in different ways. But which one hurts the most? And is it really about not hurting?

I haven’t read such a unique book in a long time now and I’d like to read this all over again. The writing was lyrical, captivating and bittersweet. Walton makes you feel the characters’ pain, loss and happiness.

Lastly, this book could not have ended in a better way, It was heartbreaking and fitting and just right. 

IMG_0452

Favorite quote: “And that might just be the root of the problem: we’re all afraid of each other, wings or no wings.”

Find it on Goodreads

My rating: 5/5

General Update

Bullet Journaling:

After seeing a dear friend’s posts about maintaining a bullet journal, I decided to give it a go and maybe it’s too soon for me to say this since I’ve only been bullet journaling for a month now but it has made my life so much easier. What is a bullet journal you ask? It’s basically a planner with no rules. It gives you all the freedom to organize it. All you need is a simple notebook and pen to start and trust me, its so much fun. And have I mentioned how it makes life easier? 😉 Here are a few snaps of my bullet journal:

IMG_0482

IMG_0483

Click here  for ideas on how to start a bullet journal. 

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries:

lizzie-bennet-diaries-darcy-and-lizzie-1-x-450

Ever since I saw the movie adaptation years ago (with Kiera Knightly), I’ve been obsessed with this Austen story. A few months back, I actually sat down and read the beautiful classic and let’s just say I finally get why the whole world loves Mr. Darcy 😉 Anyway, a friend suggested the web series The Lizzie Bennet Diaries to me, which if you haven’t already guessed, is an adaptation of Pride and Prejudice and just from the very first episode, I was hooked. I kid you not, I marathoned it because it’s brilliantly done, with such a talented cast ❤ It’s been a week since I saw this series and I still go back to some of my favorite episodes because I can never get enough of it. And oh, there were many a times when just thinking of the Darcy and Lizzie from this show has made me blush in public. Oops.    The people behind this fantastic, Emmy winning series have also come up with a modern retelling of Emma titled Emma Approved which is my current addiction 😉 Lastly, I cannot recommend this series enough. All you Austen fans, go watch it to experience a modern take on your beloved classics.

           Check it out here.

Leave a Reply

