New Year, New Goals

First off, let me start by wishing you all a very happy new year. 2016 was a very good year for me in terms of books as it was the year I discovered Brandon Sanderson and his fantastic world of Mistborn, relived my childhood through more than one YA fairy tale retelling (Uprooted, A Thousand Nights, Heartless), bid adieu to some of my favorite series (The Raven King, Crooked Kingdom) and discovered more new, magical adventures.

I know I know, I haven’t posted in a long while but bullet journaling has really made me more organized and disciplined so one of my resolutions for this year is to work on this blog. It’s turned into something I easily neglect and I don’t like it. The reason we blog is to share our love and passion for something and I’m nothing if not an avid reader who loves talking about books. I have decided to not let the lack of views demotivate me anymore, part of the reason being I want this blog to be a record of my (mainly bookish) journey for me to look back on. (Selfish much LOL) So what will I be posting? Since, I’m rusty, for now, I’ll be posting at least two reviews per month and a monthly wrap up. More posts will be put up once I get back into the flow of blogging.

Another one of my goals is to take up and complete the 2017 Popsugar reading challenge. For those of you who aren’t aware, this challenge is a list of prompts to help bring diversity into your reading. This year’s challenge has 40 prompts with an additional 12 advanced prompts. Fifty two bookish prompts sounds daunting to me right now but my goal is to complete at least 45. Here’s a link to the list of prompts.

Lastly, I want to work on my Bookstagram account. As some of you might know, Instagram has made various not so good changes in the past few months and its reached a point where I’m not motivated enough to post. Bookstagram is a lovely community, the people there so friendly and supportive despite so many different backgrounds, and I’ve met some wonderful people through Insta. I put so much effort into my photos, always giving my best and then Instagram decided what photos people are allowed to see on their feeds. Sigh. I miss out on so many posts from some of my favorite users and suffice to say, I’ve gone on a hiatus. A break really helped get some perspective and I’m no longer going to let the new algorithm make me miss out on one of my favorite things ever. I’m going to get back to posting regularly and hopefully, sometime this year, become a rep for one of the various merch stores on Insta because I’d love to share the book love 🙂

And that’s it for now folks.

Thank you so much for reading and I hope you have a fantastic year ahead. Let me know what some your goals are for this year.

Leave a Reply

